3 July 2023 – 14 July 2023

Cosmology from Home was an online cosmology conference with a novel format aimed at bringing the real-world workshop experience into the virtual domain. The format includes the use of pre-recorded talks, and a combination of asynchronous and scheduled live discussions. A permanently available and freely-navigated virtual space also facilitates ongoing, organic discussions. The conference brought together cosmologists from around the world to discuss the current state of cosmology at the interface of theory and observations.

The topics that were discussed included:

• Inflation and the Early Universe,
• Cosmic Microwave Background and Thermal History,
• Large-Scale Structure of the Universe,
• Dark Matter, Neutrinos and Other Particle Astrophysics,
• Modified Gravity, Dark Energy and Foundations of ΛCDM,
• Gravitational Waves and Multimessenger Astronomy,
• Public Engagement, Academic Life, and Diversity, Equity and Inclusion.

Plenary Speakers

Shreya Banerjee (on testing models beyond ΛCDM)

Michael Boylan-Kolchin & Lilan Yang (on early galaxies in JWST)

Jonathan Braden (on analog simulations for the early universe)

Joseph Conlon (on string cosmology)

Tomohiro Fujita (on parity violation)

Kathryn Jepsen (on public engagement)

Sesh Nadathur (on cosmic voids)

Jorge Noreña (on large-scale structure theory)

Khaled Said (on peculiar velocity surveys)

Kaitlin Schutz (on probes of dark matter)

Marta Spinelli (on line intensity mapping)

Panel Discussion

A multi-expert, deep dive into the S8 tension.


Elisa Ferreira (Kavli IPMU & University of São Paulo)

Shaun Hotchkiss (University of Auckland & Cosmology Talks)

Niko Šarčević (Newcastle University)

Mariana Vargas-Magaña (National Autonomous University of Mexico)

Benjamin Wallisch (Stockholm University & UT Austin)

Matthijs van der Wild (Durham University)


Marika Asgari (University of Hull)

Nicolás Bernal (Universidad Antonio Nariño)

Richard Easther (University of Auckland)

Juan García-Bellido (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)

Aseem Paranjape (IUCAA, Pune)

Amanda Weltman (University of Cape Town)

W. L. Kimmy Wu (SLAC & Stanford University)